Another noob w/1,000,000 questions

Home Forums New to Karting Another noob w/1,000,000 questions

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    RainMan303
    Participant

I’ve been wanting to get into karting for years, and I think the time has come to take the plunge. Unfortunately, I am totally new to the sport and have lots to figure out. I would like to get into shifters, but I don’t exactly know where to start. Stock Honda CR 125 seems like a good place. I am trying to figure out what is the relationship of CR 125-engined class to karting-specific motors. Do all 125 shifter run together? If so, are any specific layouts inherently better than others (performance/maintenance/parts availability/cost/etc.)? Also, are all shifters push-start only, or are there any remote starter systems that can be used? Any tricks on starting shifters w/out a helper?

Then, what are the Junior and Masters classes – is that by age (I’m a Master), or by ability (I’m a Junior).

I have done few years of motorcycle road racing (mostly Southeast and Las Vegas with the old AMA-CCS – anybody know/remember Roger Edmondson (lol)?) so I am not intimidated to wade through rule books and class definitions if someone can point me in the right direction. I have also driven couple of TAGs (Ocala, FL), and they were a blast, but I really would like to try a shifter. FWIW: I am 6′-1″ and 200 pounds (you can already see what is going to be my excuse for being slow (lol)).

Any info would be appreciated.

Thnx

Jeff Welch
    Participant

Welcome to karting!

There are four 6-speed shifter classes in Colorado:
    125 Shifter – ICC and built moto engines, age 16+
    125 Shifter Masters – ICC and built moto, age 35+
    Stock Honda – stock Honda engines only, age 16+
    Stock Honda Masters – stock Honda engines only, age 35+