Rotax Engines??

Home Forums New to Karting Rotax Engines??

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I’m completely new to karting, i’ve been lurking on these boards and watching at the track for a few months now, but my knowledge is definitely limited. One thing i’m struggling with is that there seems to be plenty of used rolling chassis’ available for $2500-$4000 but the rotax FR125 engines all seem to be “blueprinted, carried someone to victory recently” type engines. Is there a way to get a decent chassis and a ‘run of the mill’ rotax engine combined for $3000? I’ve been saving for a while now and I’ve got some cash saved up, but i’m finding that my expectations were probably a bit unrealistic. Is it best to wait for a few months, buy one of these excellent engines and spend $4000-$5000 on the pacakge, or does anyone have any tips on finding a package that I won’t ‘outgrow’ in short order for $3000?

This group has been exceedingly helpful so far, all of you on this board have been great! I really appreciate all the help and hope I can get in a few more stupid questions before I make a purchase of a kart.

Thanks again to all

Nick

Doug Welch
    Participant

Nick

Everybody “embellishes” their engine package a bit and everyone is very proud of their accomplishments. Trust me when I tell you, your first race win will be a high lite for weeks and you will make sure every one of your close friends knows about it. You won’t find a guy who says, “This thing is a rust bucket and runs in the back of every race so please buy my kart.” Who wants to buy a loser?